mrs clark's classroom

A World of Creativity

A Wonderful Moment as a Teacher

Leave a comment

March 2, 2014 by mrsclarkclassroom.com

I adore my 8th graders, and on friday we were just a small class of 6. It was a wonderful day because they were at their best and we just had fun being together. My favorite thing is when they drop their “walls” and just be themselves. They make me laugh, smile, and enjoy being a teacher. I was grading papers when they brought up this topic.
They were discussing what book and characters they loved. This was totally out of the blue, mind you. They have read: Now is the Time for Running by Michael Williams, The Giver, To Kill a Mockingbird, The Outsiders, and now Lord of the Flies for 8th grade. I tend to have a theme for my MS students and this is “Adaptation”.
They had a great discussion on, “Who was the character that meant the most to you?” Overall, many loved Deo and Innocent from, Now is the Time for Running. Boo and Scout, Johnny and Pony, Jonas,  Ralph and Piggy, they said they were all great. I agree. It is so hard for me to pick one, because they help every student grow in some way. They all gave me strength. Deo and Innocent are new, but I wish I had read this book as an 8th grader too.
What meant the most to me is that my 8th graders remembered those characters. They discussed, debated, defended, and as I listened, sounded like well educated young adults who could speak their minds.
My heart and soul was satisfied that they are well educated young adults that can think on their own, and know their morals and act on their principles of faith.
We still have 3 more months to get things in, that we at SPC, think they need.  They have turned the corner, and they are outstanding.
 I want them and to acknowledge this, and be proud of this in May:
“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”
I Love them very much!
Mrs. Clark

Leave a Reply

